Tuesdays with Morrie

20180126_121158

The more that You Read, the more things You will know.
The more that You learn, the more places You’ll go.
– Dr. Seuss

In 2016, I resolved to do more reading, but only managed 9 books and 8 for 2017!

I remember the books that I used to read while back in school days, were from Danielle Steel & Sidney Sheldon, not that I was a great fan but my sister was. And mind you, those books’ were comparative to today’s Harry Porter thickness!  So much for the patience of reading right?!

And through the years…I realised that I haven’t been reading much at all. So these days, gone are the fiction novels. 

I recently read this book and it have taught me lots of Life’s perspective and the importance of having a Mentor in ones’ life.  I finished the read within three days and somehow I was afraid of finishing the book…

Tuesdays with Morrie is a memoir of Morrie Schwartz who was in his seventies when he contracted Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS). It is a brutal, unforgiving illness of the neurological system, it is like a lit candle, which melts your nerves one by one and leaves your body in a pile of wax…

“It’s horrible to watch my body slowly wilt away to nothing. But it’s also wonderful because of all the time I get to say good-bye.”  This thought from Morrie reminded me of my Dad who passed on within 3 months…Dad was big size and physically active, he was the one who taught us kids cycling, swimming and all.  But was reduced to such a skinny frame, that I could hold both my hands around his belly. Is it really better to know when you are dying and have time to say good-bye?

Death – Once you learn how to die, you learn how to live.” The use-to-be pessimist me, have always thought, living till 70 will be enough and I don’t want to live beyond that. But really, would we ever be in control of when we go?  I once told my daughter, be good to me now when I’m here, all that is after, is not necessary for I do not know…

Love is how you stay alive. Everyone is in such a hurry but Morrie believed in being fully present when he’s with a person. To be able to just listen, do something for someone and not with the intention of getting anything in return. How often do we do this anymore?

Morrie went on the last thesis with Mitch on topics held so close to our hearts yet so often we choose to ignore amidst our busy…so go on and have a read and I promise it will be good.

So if today, was a struggle for you, take a step back, have a breather and count your blessings… and you will know that it’s not that bad after all! 

 

Leave a comment